When I was in college and living away from home my friends and I spent a bulk of our time feeling hungry. Finances were scarce and I did not have my own transport so whatever was consumed had to be substantial, within spitting distance and cheap as hell.

 

And so we discovered the joys of hostel cooking. In this post I shall introduce you to two dishes.

 

CRISPY TOAST

Please note that this method of making toast does not require a toaster or fire. It instead needs an iron. Yes, the kind you iron your clothes with. Spread butter evenly on a slice of bread (preferably fresh). Switch on the iron and turn the knob till it reads ‘Cotton’. Gently lay the buttered bread on top and hear it sizzle. Turn over after a minute.

 

PS: My roommate and I had a dedicated iron which was used purely for toast making purposes.

 

INSTANT NOODLES

This preparation does not need fire or even an electric kettle. It does need a modern bathroom. You ask why? Beeecaaauuuse a modern bathroom has a geyser, which in turn has piping hot water. Need I say more?

 

 

Disgusting you say? A necessity, when you are a poor student.